Iowa 4-H Foundation

Posted on April 19, 2011 at 11:43 AM by Global Reach

2008 Allamakee County - Myrna JonesThe Allamakee County 4-H & Youth Committee is proud to recognize Myrna Jones from Postville as the 2008 Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame inductee from Allamakee County.  Myrna has exhibited a life-long service to the Iowa 4-H program.

Myrna Jones began her enduring 4-H career in 1978 when she joined the all-girls Postville 4-H Club, the Postettes as a leader.  A decade later, Myrna was instrumental in merging with the all-boys 4-H club, Big 4 4-H Club, into the first co-ed 4-H Club in Allamakee County currently known as the Big 4 Poststar.  She has remained as a leader of this club even after her children graduated.  Even health issues have not dampened Myrna’s love and passion for 4-H.    

During the past 29 years as a 4-H leader, Myrna has judged at county fairs, helped with workshops, organized club trips and attends all leader meetings.  Myrna remains an active leader and a regular participant at county 4-H programs and events.  Her greatest claim of fame is the title of “the coolest person ever”in her club.

Tribute Gift

Categories: Allamakee

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field

© 2024 Iowa 4-H Foundation. All Rights Reserved.