Iowa 4-H Foundation

Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame

The Iowa 4-H Foundation sponsors the annual Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame induction ceremony at the Iowa State Fair. Counties nominate volunteers, community leaders, and Extension staff members who have exemplified outstanding service and dedication to the 4-H youth program in their county. Only one individual or couple per county can be nominated each year. Inductees can be recognized posthumously. 

The Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame was established in 2002 as 4-H celebrated 100 years of a program dedicated to teaching youth life skills.  During those 100 years, it became evident that one of the essential elements of the 4-H program was the caring adults who were committed to the program. 

Inductees into the Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame represent the many people in Iowa who have contributed countless hours to the 4-H program.  They work tirelessly to see that Iowa’s youth have a great learning experience in a safe and fun environment.These adults have modeled volunteerism, community service, integrity, and leadership to Iowa’s youth.  Their legacy is the young people they have mentored who will in turn support the continuation of a 4-H program that builds Iowa’s leaders.

The induction ceremony for the 4-H Hall of Fame honorees is scheduled for the last Sunday of the Iowa State Fair in the 4-H Exhibit Building. If the honoree is deceased, a family member may represent that person at the induction ceremony.

Because of the extraordinary number of families and friends who attend the induction ceremony, there are two induction ceremonies to provide a quality experience for the inductees and their supporters. The first ceremony, for counties Adair through Jasper, begins at 1:30 p.m. The second ceremony, for counties Jefferson through Wright, begins at 3:30 p.m. (both East and West Pottawattamie are included in the second ceremony at 3:30.)

View photos from the 2023 Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame induction ceremonies - click HERE! 


Hall of Fame Inductees by County

Adair Clay Hancock Madison Ringgold
Adams Clayton Hardin Mahaska Sac
Allamakee Clinton Harrison Marion Scott
Appanoose Crawford Henry Marshall Shelby
Audubon Dallas Howard Mills Sioux
Benton Davis Humboldt Mitchell Story
Black Hawk Decatur Ida Monona Tama
Boone Delaware Iowa Monroe Taylor
Bremer Des Moines Jackson Montgomery Union
Buchanan Dickinson Jasper Muscatine Van Buren
Buena Vista Dubuque Jefferson O'Brien Wapello
Butler Emmet Johnson Osceola Warren
Calhoun Fayette Jones Page Washington
Carroll Floyd Keokuk Palo Alto Wayne
Cass Franklin Kossuth Plymouth Webster
Cedar Fremont Lee Pocahontas Winnebago
Cerro Gordo Greene Linn Polk Winneshiek
Cherokee Grundy Louisa Pottawattamie (East) Woodbury
Chickasaw Guthrie Lucas Pottawattamie (West) Worth
Clarke Hamilton Lyon Poweshiek Wright


Statewide Hall of Fame Inductees

O.H. Benson (2003) Max Exner (2003) Emelda Kunau (2003) Lyle Mackey (2003) Don Muhm (2003)
Glen Thompson (2003) Kenneth Fulk (2004) Don Greiman (2004) Shirley Stakey (2004) Florine Swanson (2005)
Phyllis Olsen (2007) Loren Kruse (2014) Jerry Parson (2014) Jim Pease (2016) JaneAnn Stout (2016)
Jerry Perkins (2017) Janis Stone (2018) Lois Warme (2018) Roy Hougen (2019) Darrell Busby (2019)
Tom Baas (2020) Joe Sellers (2020) Chuck Morris (2021) Dennis Thompson (2022) Don Broshar (2023)


To suggest nominees for induction into the Hall of Fame, contact your ISU County Extension Office.

ISU Extension & Outreach staff submit Hall of Fame nominations here.

© 2024 Iowa 4-H Foundation. All Rights Reserved.