Iowa 4-H Foundation

Webster County’s Linda Cline Named 2023 Outstanding 4-H Leader

August 23, 2023

News Item Image


Webster County’s Linda Cline Named 2023 Outstanding 4-H Leader
Iowa 4-H Foundation awards the 11th annual 
Successful Farming/Loren Kruse Outstanding Iowa 4-H Leader Award

AMES, Iowa – The Successful Farming/Loren Kruse Outstanding Iowa 4-H Leader Award is presented annually to an adult volunteer who has encouraged, challenged, and inspired Iowa 4-H members to reach their fullest potential. This year’s recipient is Linda Cline from Webster County. Cline was honored at the Iowa State Fair on August 20, 2023. Cline was nominated by Emma Alstott, member of the Douglas Dreamers 4-H Club in Webster County. 

For more than 40 years, Linda has been dedicated to the 4-H Program in Webster County: as a club leader, project volunteer and staff member. Since 1981, Linda has served as the leader of the Douglas Dreamers 4-H Club. She also has served as the Cat Project Leader. She has chaperoned numerous trips from National Congress, to National Conference to Citizenship Washington Focus. And she has worked to provide opportunities for 4-H’ers in her club and across Webster County.

Leadership and communication are skills Linda works to ensure that all club members gain. Each year, club members are encouraged to give a presentation as a way to grow and advance their communications skills. And each year, she works closely with the club officer team as they develop the year’s programming, helping to provide guidance, but ensuring that their voice prevails.

“In Webster County she is known as the person who would never let anyone settle for less. She has helped them build the skills they need to not only succeed now, but also in the future,” says Alstott.

In addition to her volunteer role, Linda served as Webster County’s County Youth Coordinator for twenty years, which gave Linda a unique perspective as a leader of her club and also gave her the opportunity to impact more youth. In this role, Linda encouraged all youth to step out of the comfort zone and try something new.

“We’re proud to honor Linda for her work to support 4-H’ers,” said Emily Saveraid, Executive Director of the Iowa 4-H Foundation. “Her selfless efforts exemplify the spirit of this award.”

The Successful Farming/Loren Kruse Outstanding Iowa 4-H Leader Award comes with a $1,000 grant, which the honoree can designate back to Iowa 4-H through their club, county, or state foundations. The award was established by Meredith Corporation and the Edwin T. Meredith Foundation through the Iowa 4-H Foundation in honor of Loren Kruse’s retirement as editor-in-chief of Successful Farming magazine. Kruse credits the outstanding guidance his 4-H club leader provided for his successes as an adult. 

The Iowa 4-H Foundation is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization and provides private financial resources to develop and deliver quality 4-H youth programs throughout the state of Iowa. These opportunities help young people enhance their ability to use critical thinking, leadership, communication, and social skills – tools that will give them a competitive edge in their future endeavors.



Cutline:  Linda Cline (center) accepts the 2023 Successful Farming/Loren Kruse Outstanding Iowa 4-H Leader Award from Emily Saveraid (right), Executive Director of the Iowa 4-H Foundation, and Marty Wolske (left), Publisher of Successful Farming Magazine on August 20, 2023 at the Iowa State Fair. 

High Resolution Photo click HERE:

For More Information:

Emily Saveraid, Executive Director
Iowa 4-H Foundation     515-294-1537

« Back

© 2024 Iowa 4-H Foundation. All Rights Reserved.