Legacy Awards - Iowa 4-H Foundation

Legacy Awards

Friday, February 23, 2018

State Historical Building, Des Moines

6:00 P.M. Reception & Interactive Exhibits
6:45 P.M. Dinner and Awards Ceremony

The Iowa 4-H Foundation invites you to support the Legacy Awards Gala, an evening to celebrate Iowa 4-H and to recognize those who have made a significant impact on the program. Come help us honor four outstanding supporters of the Iowa 4-H program, make a contribution during the dessert auction and meet 4-H'ers showcasing their exhibits!  



 We are pleased to be able to honor the following recipients!


Individual Supporter: Florine & Ron Swanson

Ron & Florine Swanson are dedicated 4-H supporters. Through their work as 4-H parents and volunteers as well as Florine’s 18 years as Executive Director of the Iowa 4-H Foundation, the 4-H program continues to feel their influence.

Outstanding Young Alum: Rachel Wall

Starting from her days working with 4-H Nutrition projects, Rachel Wall has become an influential dietitian in Eastern Iowa, now working for ISU Extension & Outreach. Rachel actively promotes healthy lifestyles through her work with schools and community health.

Corporate Partner: DuPont Pioneer

Long time contributors to the Iowa 4-H program, DuPont Pioneer has supported a variety of initiatives including the creation of the Pioneer Seed Grants which provide funds for local 4-H clubs to conduct community service projects.

Contributing Youth: Eric Keller

Eric Keller, a Tama County 4-H’er uses the skills he has gained through 4-H to benefit others. From promoting the 4-H Shooting Sports Program nationally to creating a program to get Tama County 4-H’ers interested in the swine project, Eric is making a difference!


Presenting Sponsors:



Event Sponsors:




Event Information

Attire for the evening is semi-formal, cocktail.

6:00 pm - Reception & Interactive 4-H'er Exhibits
6:45 pm - Dinner, Awards Ceremony & Dessert Auction
9:00 pm - Event Wrap-Up


New this year - Des Moines artist Ben Schuh

Ben is a third generation 4-H'er who earned degrees in fine art and graphic design in 2004 from Grand View University. Driven by his love of painting and strong work ethic, Ben has focused his career as a professional painter. Characterized by bold brushstrokes, distinct colors, and multiple layers, each of his works is one of a kind, offering the perfect complement to any room.

This year Ben is going to be doing a live painting at our event. This 4-H painting will then be sold to raise additional funds for Iowa 4-H!




Complimentary parking is available in the garage across the street from the museum at the corner of Grand Avenue and Pennsylvania Avenue (highlighted yellow on the map below). Street parking is also available.




2017 Event Photos available HERE



© 2018 Iowa 4-H Foundation. All Rights Reserved.