Iowa 4-H History By County - Iowa 4-H Foundation

Iowa 4-H History By County

Iowa 4-H celebrated 110 years of existence in 2011 with the launch of a new blog of Iowa’s 4-H history. A decade ago, Iowa State University Extension staff and 4-H volunteers began discussion about writing Iowa’s illustrative 4-H history in conjunction with the centennial of 4-H.

From those early discussions, a children’s ABC book about 4-H was written and illustrated. In addition, county celebrations during the 4-H centennial as well as ISU Extension’s centennial in 2003 resulted in the gathering of numerous pictures, record books and memorabilia. Those efforts have resulted in what will now be a living history of 4-H that can be continually added to with your own experiences in 4-H.

Iowa 4-H histories from 92 counties have been posted. Each county has taken a different approach to documenting their history. We hope you enjoy their stories! Click on the counties below in orange to read about Iowa 4-H history and the impact the program has had in communities across Iowa.

Iowa 4-H History

Adair Clay Hancock Madison Ringgold
Adams Clayton Hardin Mahaska Sac
Allamakee Clinton Harrison Marion Scott
Appanoose Crawford Henry Marshall Shelby
Audubon Dallas Howard Mills Sioux
Benton Davis Humboldt Mitchell Story
Black Hawk Decatur Ida Monona Tama
Boone Delaware Iowa Monroe Taylor
Bremer Des Moines Jackson Montgomery Union
Buchanan Dickinson Jasper Muscatine Van Buren
Buena Vista Dubuque Jefferson O'Brien Wapello
Butler Emmet Johnson Osceola Warren
Calhoun Fayette Jones Page Washington
Carroll Floyd Keokuk Palo Alto Wayne
Cass Franklin Kossuth Plymouth Webster
Cedar Fremont Lee Pocahontas Winnebago
Cerro Gordo Greene Linn Polk Winneshiek
Cherokee Grundy Louisa Pottawattamie (E) Woodbury
Chickasaw Guthrie Lucas Pottawattamie (W) Worth
Clarke Hamilton Lyon Poweshiek Wright


© 2023 Iowa 4-H Foundation. All Rights Reserved.